Josh Turner Goes Gospel, At Least For Next Album

Josh Turner will release a new album, a collection of gospel songs called I Serve A Savior, on October 26th. The project includes hand-picked hymns, alongside brand-new originals and live recordings of some of Josh’s hits “Me and God” and “Long Black Train.” I Serve A Savior even includes a special song penned by his wife, Jennifer, and oldest son, Hampton, called “The River (of Happiness).” The pair also sings on the track along with Josh’s three other boys.

He said, “My faith is the most important thing to me. I want people to hear the sentiment and heart behind this record. I want them to feel the same inspiration that I felt. I want them to feel that and hopefully they’ll make these songs a part of their life.”

Josh tells us: “The songs that make up this record are all songs that really mean something to me. There’s a huge variety of songs on this record, but they’re all songs that really have a special place in my heart whether they are older hymns or songs that I wrote or cover songs, or what-have-you. It’s just a collection of songs that I really feel strongly about.”

Josh is also set to release a 90-minute live performance DVD of the new faith-based collection, filmed at Gaither Studios. The DVD will include a special interview of the singer with gospel legend Bill Gaither. The DVD, which features a performance by the Turner family, will also be edited to air as a one-hour television special hosted by Bill Gaither. The special will air this fall on several networks across the U.S. and Canada.


Here is the I Serve A Savior track listing:

I Serve A Savior Track Listing:

1. I Saw The Light (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
2. I Pray My Way Out Of Trouble (Featuring Bobby Osborne)
3. Great Is Your Faithfulness
4. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
5. Without Him
6. I Serve A Savior
7. How Great Thou Art (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
8. The River (of Happiness) Featuring the Turner family (Live From Gaither Studios)
9. Amazing Grace
10. Long Black Train (Live From Gaither Studios)
11. Doxology
12. Me And God (Live From Gaither Studios)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content